Equality is not a Feeling, 3.0

Here’s another installment in my series, Equality is not a Feeling–in which I am trying to illustrate, visually, numerous ways in which (in)equality in the Mormon church can be measured.  This one is similar to the first one (Equality is not a Feeling 1.0), but I’ve used a different visual.

Here is the male-female breakdown of the top leaders of the Mormon church.  For those who are familiar with the organizational structure of the Mormon church, the male leaders include the following:

  • the First Presidency (n=3)
  • the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles (n=12)
  • the Presidency of the Seventy (n=7)
  • the 1st Quorum of the Seventy (n=62, currently)
  • the 2nd Quorum of the Seventy (n=20, currently)
  • the Presiding Bishopric (n=3)
  • the Sunday School Presidency (n=3)
  • the Young Men’s Presidency (n=3)

Total:  n=113

The female leaders (who are referred to–along with the Sunday School Presidency and the Young Men’s Presidency–as “Auxiliaries” and who work under the direction of the men listed above) include:

  • the Relief Society presidency (n=3)
  • the Young Women’s presidency (n=3)
  • the Primary General presidency (n=3)

Total: n=9

Here’s what that looks like visually–in two different chart types, because I couldn’t decide which one I liked the best:

 2012 10 20 church leadership pie chart

[For more Equality is not a Feeling posts, see the archive here.]